Hello, you.

Hello. I’m Kevin MacNeil and I hereby promise to try and update this blog regularly. Instead of writing epic essays every day, I am going to try and write brief, but regular, posts which will include: details of readings and gigs and publications, links to new songs or pertinent websites, ideas, opinions, literary chat, bad jokes, cycling-related stuff, random insights and perhaps even the odd photograph or two.

Hcfnewbikejuly2010_021

Today I am giving you a song. This came about because I wrote some words for a tune by the amazing Australian bagpiper Mark Saul. Glasgow-based melancholy folksters (and soup connoisseurs) Brawth intercepted and stole the words and made a song of their own. Cheeky. But I like the song. The moral of the story is that crime does pay, and not just if your name is Ian Rankin.

The song is in Gaelic and it is an elegy, as so many Gaelic songs are.

http://www.reverbnation.com/tunepak/2771054

 

