These Islands, We Sing: An Anthology of Scottish Island Poetry

‘These Islands, We Sing’ launches at the Scottish Poetry Library at 7pm on Tuesday 28th June and in Glasgow at the CCA at 7pm on the 30th June.

“Many of the most important poets grew up or chose to live on Scottish islands, not least the editor of a brand new anthology of ‘island’ poetry, Kevin MacNeil. ‘These Islands, We Sing’ brings together a wonderful array of work from those poets who are readily associated with island living such as Sorley Maclean, George Mackay Brown and Edwin Muir, but also those whose work and life have become heavily entwined with islands, including Meg Bateman, Andrew Greig and Jen Hadfield to name but three.

‘These Islands, We Sing’ will be launched at the Scottish Poetry Library, 5 Crichton’s Close, Edinburgh on Tuesday 28th June at 7.00 p.m. All welcome for an evening of poems from a far horizon with readings from Andrew Greig, Christine de Luca, Roseanne Watt and Kevin MacNeil.”

“Five poets from Scotland’s islands bring their unique work to Glasgow’s CCA on Thursday 30th June in a Scottish Writers Centre Event, 7pm.

The readings are part of the launch celebrations for the new anthology of Scottish Island poetry  – ‘These Islands We Sing’ (Birlinn Polygon) – edited by Kevin MacNeil – about which see:–We-Sing-9781846971969/

Appearing at the CCA are Pam Beasant (Orkney), Rody Gorman (Skye), Christie Williamson (Shetland), Lise Sinclair (Fair Isle) and Kevin MacNeil.”


The following poets feature in the anthology (arranged, as they appear in the book, in chronological order):
Edwin Muir, Hugh MacDiarmid, Somhairle MacGill-Eain/Sorley MacLean, An t-Urr. Iain MacLeoid/Rev. Iain Macleod, William J. Tait, George Mackay Brown, Ruaraidh MacThomais/Derrick Thomson, Laurence Graham, Jack Renwick, Stella Sutherland, Ian Hamilton Finlay, Alastair Mackie, Iain C. Mac a’ Ghobhainn/Iain Crichton Smith, Rhoda Bulter, Domhnall MacAmhlaigh/Donald MacAulay, Alison Prince, Mavis Gulliver, Aonghas MacNeacail, Edward Cummins, Maoilios Caimbeul/Myles Campbell, John Aberdein, Norman Bissell, Christine De Luca, Jim Moncrieff, Catriona NicGumaraid/Catriona Montgomery, Laureen Johnson, Morag MacInnes, Morag NicGumaraid/Morag Montgomery, Sheenagh Pugh, Gordon Dargie, Andrew Greig, Jim Mainland, Alistair Peebles, Aonghas Padraig Caimbeul/Angus Peter Campbell, Siusaidh NicNeill, Mairi NicGumaraid/Mary Montgomery, Ian Stephen, Donald S. Murray, Yvonne Grey, Robert Alan Jamieson, Meg Bateman, Mark O. Goodwin, Rody Gorman, James Andrew Sinclair, Pamela Beasant, James Knox Whittet, Iain S. Mac a’ Phearsain/John S. MacPherson, Alison Flett, Anna Frater, Babs NicGriogair, Alex Cluness, Lise Sinclair, Mark Smith, Christie Williamson, Jen Hadfield, Padraig MacAoidh/Peter Mackay, Raman Mundair, Roseanne Watt.