My Favourite Bike (and a gratuitous picture of a deer)

20120430-204717.jpg
With my epic bike-ride for Bethesda Hospice just a few days away I thought I would say a few words about the bike that will be hinderi- I mean, accompanying me, and offer a few observations on biking, components, etc. Oh, and don’t get me wrong, I love this bike more than is seemly. But it is going to be a tough day in the saddle, what with the weather (I’m going against the prevailing Hebridean winds) and the hills (which are all in the last third of the ride) and, y’know, the whole fixed-gearness of it all. The last time I checked there were no fixies on Lewis/Harris and, apparently, just one on Skye. This is probably because of the aforementioned weather and hills. Still, I began riding this kind of bike when I lived in Shetland and that really is a windy and hilly place.
Anyway – this bike is a custom build around a Dolan Champion track frame. It’s a beautifully designed frame, aerodynamic and fairly light. I don’t have a bad word to say about this frame (except, perhaps, that it’s a shame there are no colour options. I wouldn’t have chosen a white frame, though now that I’ve had it a while I have grown fond of it).
By the way, there isn’t an ounce of carbon on my bike (I gave up carbon and multigeared bikes at the same time. In fact, I sold a Cannondale C6 to build up the Dolan. Swift and nicely engineered though the C6 was, I have no regrets at all.)
The frame comes with integrated track forks and headset, and an alloy seatpost. I’m 5’10” and I like to ride a 54cm frame, though some people my height would opt for a 55cm or 56cm frame. It’s all about individuality and preference. (Remember when buying a bike, especially if it’s your first bike for a while, go to your local bike shop and try out different size bikes, don’t just order a bike on the internet because it ‘looks good’. And be equally aware of the importance of frame size when buying a second hand bike. An ill-fitting frame is as good as no bike at all – worse, perhaps, since you could end up doing in your back, knees, etc).
Saddles are very much a personal thing. Don’t believe anyone who tells you ‘X is the best saddle around’. What they mean is ‘X is the best saddle around for me’. You really have to try out different saddles until you find one that suits your anatomy and riding style. I use an Adamo saddle with an unusual design; it has a cutaway at the front. I like it because, being a Time Trial saddle, it is constructed with the kind of rider in mind who sits quite forward on the saddle (as I tend to do). The Adamo is a ‘Marmite’ saddle – many riders positively hate it. I’m very happy with mine. It relieves perineal pressure in a way no other saddle in my experience does. If they were (significantly!) cheaper I’d consider getting an Adamo for each of my three bikes. That said, a little variety is not a bad thing in cycling.
The bars are unbranded and were one of the less expensive components on my original custom build. I liked how they looked.

20120430-204903.jpg
However, 38cm drop bars are not ideal for climbing so out came the saw and soon the drop bars were bullhorn bars.

20120430-205028.jpg
I covered them in Bianchi’s trademark celeste bartape as I often cover myself in Bianchi’s trademark celeste clothing! The bars are lighter now and way better suited to climbing.
I use a Gimondi crankset as a mechanic in my local shop was praising it to me one day. So – I had to get the Gimondi! The crankset on my Dolan’s original incarnation was second-hand and I had always intended to replace it. I love the Gimondi’s retro look. The chainring is 48t, the crank arms are 165s.
I tend to use platform pedals ever since an incident I won’t go into here. (Though as an aside, I will say this: quite a few cyclists have told me how realistic they found the bike crash scene near the beginning of A Method Actor’s Guide to Jekyll and Hyde. A potentially lethal bike crash I had before that book came out actually happened after I had written that scene!) The pedals are MKS Sylvan Track Pedals. Japanese coolness. I teamed them with MKS steel toeclips with leather detailing. It’s useful to have toeclips as sometimes my cadence on the downhill is ridiculous because of the gear size I’m using.
I mentioned the 48 tooth chainring. I usually ride a 48t/15t but for the purposes of the Bethesda ride I am, on advice, using a 48t/20t. This gear is to make the Cliseam (highest mountain in the Outer Hebrides) and the Devil’s Elbow (short sharp shock of an incline going South out of Tarbert) manageable. But in many ways this easier gear makes life more difficult. How? Because on the flat I can’t sustain the same speeds that I can with a larger gear like my favoured 48t/15t. This means my 130km ride will take longer, and use many more pedal strokes, than it otherwise would. And as for the downhill. Well, downhill is always fun on a fixed-gear bike as, of course, you have to pedal, pedal, pedal. But when you have to pedal so quickly your legs blur like in a cartoon – that’s a challenge in its own right. The toeclips will help ensure my feet don’t slip off the pedals. My cadence does go up to alarming levels on certain downhills in training. Sometimes I have to concede there is nothing for it but to brake on steep downhills, which is frustrating as it wastes energy and kills flow and momentum.
The brake – I only use a front brake on this bike, though you could convincingly argue that pedals also provide useful brake power – has a Campagnolo Veloce brake mech (I believe in using good quality brake mechs and pads) with a little black and white Goldfinger brake lever that suits the bike’s look and more importantly does a good job of doing what it’s meant to do.
The front wheel is a Halo Aero Rage, the rear a Halo Aero Race. They seem pretty good wheels: sturdy, not too heavy (though definitely not light either), good at staying true. I used to swear by Armadillo tyres (having used them without a single puncture for thousands of miles on my Danube bike), but now I use Schwalbe Marathon Plus as the puncture-proofing on them looks impressive and, so far, is impressive. I don’t mind paying a slight rolling-resistance penalty if I am less likely to puncture.
I use a Cateye Micro computer and a Polar FT4 heart rate monitor.
As well as training on the Dolan outdoors, I have been training on rollers with my Viva fixed-gear, an inexpensive bike I also love, but that’s for another blog.
When I was doing circuits of Richmond Park earlier today I just had to stop an jump out of the saddle to get a quick picture of this fella:

20120430-210115.jpg
If you wish to sponsor me or just to find out more about my charity bike-ride, please click here. I hope you enjoyed the blog. It’s probably a little late to warn you that if you aren’t a bit of a bike nerd, this blog might not excite you too much. 🙂

20120430-205220.jpg
The view that awaits me in Leverburgh. Love it!

One thought on “My Favourite Bike (and a gratuitous picture of a deer)

  1. Good luck, Kevin, hope it goes well! 🙂
    On the deer pic – I still haven’t seen any during my time here in Lewis. I feel cheated! 🙂

Comments are closed.