130km Fixed-Gear Bike-Ride for Bethesda

Some of you will know I’ve been in training for a gruelling charity
cycle to raise money for the Bethesda Hospice in Stornoway, which
cared for my mum in her final weeks. And, yesterday, I did it. Here’s
how it went…

20120508-151810.jpg
My big plan was to cycle from the lighthouse at Ness – the northernmost point of Lewis –
to Leverburgh, in the south of Harris: 130km in all, and a route that
involves a lot of daunting hills. Being a man who likes to push
himself (or who is borderline insane, depending on your point of view), I
decided to make it that much more challenging by doing the ride on a
fixed gear bike. That, for the non-bike-nerds among you, means you
can’t change gear to help you climb, or even freewheel when going
downhill. You must pedal every inch of the way. (I love fixed gear bikes and don’t own a bike with more than one gear).
I trained hard and felt reasonably confident, but, although
I’d done long fixie rides before, I hadn’t tried anything serious involving
this sort of terrain – so I didn’t quite know how it was going to be.
I reckoned it would take me six or seven hours.
Yesterday – the allotted day for the cycle – dawned bright and sunny –
a relief, as I’d feared a rain-soaked, wind-buffeted ride, which would
not have been much fun. Instead, I was lucky with, and grateful for, the weather, and the ride, past some of the islands’ most stunning
scenery, was actually enjoyable in places. And, yes, it was tough – the Devil’s
Elbow just outside Tarbert stands out as a particularly difficult
section. The Clisham – the highest hill in the Outer Hebrides – was not too bad. I didn’t stop for lunch or for any meaningful rests, just had the occasional energy gel or chocolate bar along with a good drink of water.
I pushed through, and cruised into Leverburgh in the mid-afternoon
after just 4 hours 51 minutes of cycling. I was truly elated with that
time.:-)
But, most importantly, thanks to everyone’s generosity I’ve almost doubled my original target of
raising £1000 for Bethesda. I’m currently on £1960, and now really
hoping I can make it to £2000. I’m humbled and awed by the response to
my ride, which says so much about the way the hospice is regarded both on the island and elsewhere. Last summer I saw at first hand what an amazing job the
Bethesda staff do, and it made me determined to do my bit to help
raise money for this wonderful place. Thanks so much to everyone who helped me (Dad, Charlotte, Francis, D.R., Innes, Norrie) and to everyone who sponsored
me
and thus supported the vital service in the community Bethesda provides.

20120508-151857.jpg
If you wish to contribute a donation, please click here. 🙂

