Bike Adventures

20120611-143547.jpg

The Dolan fixed-gear bike is having some adventures this summer! First of all, the Ness to Leverburgh ride I did in my native Hebrides in May raised an amazing amount of money for Stornoway’s Bethesda hospice (where my mother passed the last weeks of her life). Ullapool Book Festival, a favourite of anyone who has ever attended it, generously donated money from one of their famous coffee mornings this year, plus they had a charity bucket during the festival to which many people kindly donated. These lovely gestures boosted the monies raised by £470-00!
So, the bike-ride raised £2687-01 which, with Gift Aid of £433-00, totals £3120-01. I am humbled and grateful and want to say to everyone who contributed what they could and who supported the ride for this cause:
THANK YOU!

Back to the present! This week the Dolan and I are back in Scotland, delivering a film as part of the Hansel of Film project (part of the Cultural Olympiad, and brain-child of Shetland Arts, Mark Kermode and Linda Ruth Williams. It is a UK-wide relay (Shetland to Southampton and back!) of screenings of short films made by the public as part of the London 2012 Festival.
You can find out more about it here.
I am delighted to be taking part. Shetland runs two brilliant concurrent festivals every year – WordPlay (books) and ScreenPlay (films). I’ve had the pleasure of participating in a number of events at these great festivals and so it feels good to give something back to Shetland Arts and its associated individuals and communities.
Some info from the Hansel page about my involvement:
KEVIN MACNEIL
RELAY ROUTE: ULLAPOOL TO AYR
TRANSPORT: BY FIXED-GEAR BIKE, TRAIN, KATHYMOBILE
WHO?
Kevin MacNeil
HOW?
Cycling from Ullapool to Ayr, with an occasional bus, cadged lift or train journey thrown in!
WHY?
“The only thing better than a moving picture is a moving moving picture. If it’s quite a poignant film then it’ll be a moving moving moving picture. I’m riding a fixed-gear bike because it’s a physical counterpart to the mental exercise writing demands. I also want to support Shetland Arts as I lived in Shetland for a year and I reckon WordPlay and ScreenPlay are two of the best festivals in Scotland.”

20120611-143428.jpg
Cycling through one of my favourite places in the world, the Isle of Harris. You might recognise the landscape from 2001: A Space Odyssey! (“Tinted shots of parts of the island were used by Stanley Kubrick as the surface of Jupiter in the film 2001: A Space Odyssey.” -Wikipedia)

